April 9, 2014 Meeting Minutes

The Union County Redevelopment Commission met at 8:30am in the Union County Commissioners’ meeting room of the Union County Courthouse. Commission members Melanie Caldwell, Dennis Estridge, and Kris Lacy were in attendance, as well as newly appointed members Diana Bourne and James Tilton. Bev Woodruff of The Liberty Herald and Pam Tharp of the Palladium-Item also attended.

Upon calling the meeting to order, this years’ slate of officers was presented to the commission for their approval. Members agreeing to serve are Kris Lacy, President, Dan Hubbard, Vice President and Melanie Caldwell, Secretary. Dennis Estridge moved and Marc Ross seconded to approve the slate as presented. The slate was approved unanimously.

Kris Lacy then welcomed both Diana Bourne and James Tilton as our newest members of the commission. Their participation as members of the Redevelopment Commission is much appreciated.

The meeting minutes of December 10, 2013 were read and approved unanimously. The motion was made by Dennis Estridge and seconded by Marc Ross. The year-end financials were also presented and approved unanimously. Dennis Estridge made the motion to approve and James Tilton seconded that motion.

As we discussed at our last meeting, UCRC is beginning the process of listing the Whitewater Industrial Park on the State of Indiana’s “shovel ready” website. Progress on the application continues and updates will be forthcoming until its completion.

The need for purchasing gravel for the industrial park driveway was tabled. If further erosion occurs, we will address the need at a future time.

By way of the Indiana Economic Development Corporation we were notified of a possible client for the industrial park. Their needs required 3-10 acres for a Herb-growing company. We submitted our information about the Whitewater Industrial Park for their review.

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Melanie Caldwell, Secretary